crazy goog phot assistant ux if you click NO to save the goog photo creation it doesnt delete it !
it just moves it a secret unlisted location
how to move your photos off google #googdrive and #googone to #googphotos and save an unlimited amount of money #cloud #photo #backup #flickralt #flickrip
maybe you are using 45G of goog ie 30G above your free 15G quota and are having to pay google one for the extra space
well you can convert photos on your google drive and google one to free unlimited google photos cloud storage if you want
once you are happy photos have converted correctly
the dangers of linking your google drive #googdrive or google one #googone to your google photos #googphotos #flickralt #flickrip
the main danger / reason is
(why would you want to delete a photo from unlimited ! storage ?)
if fact all the deletion rules are just too complicated (and you will end up using and needing to pay for google drive or google one space)
see (read ? & understand ?)
and then goto
to check your settings and check that the
more top tips for using google #unlimited photo backup and sync app #cloud #photo #backup #flickralt #flickrip
more #googdrive #googone #googphotos confusion #cloud #photo #backup #flickralt #flickrip
your google photos backups DO appear on your google drive page but they and in a sub folder called MY COMPUTERS !
google photos #unlimited (reduced res) backup and sync for all your desktops and for all your #android and #ios #mobiles #cloud #photo #backup #sync
if you have multiple desktops and multiple google accounts then you might like to setup separate subdirs in your Pictures folder and run separate google photos backup and sync sessions for each google account GOO1-ACCOUNT1, GOO2-ACCOUNT2 etc
but dont get confused between
do not link google drive to google photos unless you understand deleting implications
What happens when you change or delete a photo
If you edit photos in Google Photos, changes won’t show in Google Drive.
When you delete a photo from Google Photos, it’ll also get deleted from Google Drive.
If you delete a photo from Google Drive, it’ll also get deleted from Google Photos.
But if you add that photo to an album in Google Photos, it won’t be deleted from those albums.
If you delete from the Google Photos folder in My Drive:
If you delete individual photos or videos, they will be removed from Google Photos.
If you delete folders (including the Google Photos folder), photos and videos won’t be deleted in Google Photos. This is to avoid deleting all your photos and videos by accident.
If you move photos from the Google Photos folder to a different folder and delete them from there, they’ll also be deleted in Google Photos.
What happens when you delete a photo with Backup and Sync
If you delete a photo or video from Google Photos, it’ll also be deleted from Google Drive. If you delete from Google Drive, it’ll also be deleted from Google Photos.
When you install, your setting will be set to “Don’t remove items everywhere,” but you can change it. Learn to change how your photos are deleted.
Remove items everywhere
If you delete a photo or video from your computer, it’ll be removed from Google Photos and Google Drive.
If you delete a photo in Google Photos or Google Drive, it’ll be deleted from your computer.
Don’t remove items everywhere
If you delete a photo or video from Google Drive or Google Photos, it won’t be deleted from your computer.
If you delete a photo or video from your computer, it won’t be deleted from Google Drive or Google Photos.
Ask before removing items
When you delete a photo or video from Google Photos, Google Drive or computer, it will ask how you want to delete it.
Note: It may take some time for your photos and videos to be deleted everywhere.
you can even backup RAW photos (to google one) from some cameras
for example the Panasonic CM1, FZ300, G70, GF1, GF3, GF5, GF7, GH3, GH4, GM1, GM5, GX1, GX8, LX5, LX7, LX100
a better way to copy link your google drive photos to your #unlimited (but at a lower res) google photos photos #googphotos #hack #tip @flickr #flickralt #flickrip
FIRST – DO NOT CLICK the google link my photos button
SECOND – instead
you can then delete your photos from your google drive (and cancel your google one account if you want to save an extra £1.50 a month)
YES this technique will require more bandwidth but will FREE up all your google drive space (and any chargable google one cloud space) and give you FULL delete control over your photos
BTW and if you need extra bandwidth at home why not switch to
goog unlimited (reduced res) photo backup app #windows #android #ios downloads
goog android (mobiles and tablets)
apple ios (iphones and ipads)
goog photos #googphotos #search and #undelete and #googdrive #googone integration tips #flickralt #flickrip
and if i understand the “what happens when you change or delete a photo” section correctly its best not to link Goog Drive to Goog Photos but download your photos from Goog Drive to your PC first and then re upload them to Goog Photos