following a long campaign by myself (#flickralt) and others goog are finally changing how google drive and google photos interact
From 10 July 2019, new photos and videos from Drive won’t automatically show in Photos. Similarly, new photos and videos in Photos will not be added to the Photos folder in Drive. Photos and videos you delete in Drive will not be removed from Photos. Similarly, items you delete in Photos will not be removed from Drive. This change is designed to help prevent accidental deletion of items across products.
From 10 July 2019, Google Photos and Google Drive will no longer automatically sync. We’re making this change to simplify how things work between the two services. You can read more about the changes in our blog post.
- When you upload or delete photos in Google Drive or Google Photos, changes won’t be reflected in the other product.
- On photos.google.com, you can use a new feature called ‘Upload from Drive’, which lets you manually choose photos and videos from Drive to copy into Photos.
- Once items have been copied into Photos, items are not connected between the two products.
- If you copy Original quality items from Drive into Photos, they will count towards your storage in both products. Learn more.
- These changes are for all devices and platforms, like iOS and Android.
Your existing photos and videos are still in Google Photos and Google Drive. Google Photos backup will continue to work as before.