Student Created Math Hunt of Area of Irregular Shapes: CCSS 6.G.1

I Speak Math

I racked my brain for at least a week trying to come up with something interesting for this.

CCSS.Math.Content.6.G.1 Find the area of right triangles, other triangles, special quadrilaterals, and polygons by composing into rectangles or decomposing into triangles and other shapes; apply these techniques in the context of solving real-world and mathematical problems.

I had a few worksheets in my files on finding areas of irregular shapes.  Boring.  I even had a Math Hunt that I created last year (from a similar worksheet.  But, that was pretty dry as well, the only difference is they get to walk around the room.  It’s been a tough week, but these activities just weren’t inspiring me.

My students do love a good math hunt, but they also love being creative.  Also, I didn’t just want them to find areas, I wanted to have them do the higher level skill of finding…

View original post 327 more words

Leave a Reply

